First EP Delegation to Iran in Six Years

Five MEPs will be in Teheran between December 12 and 18, first time since 2007, aiming to re-establish interparliamentary relations with members of the Iranian Majlis; to raise human rights issues including the protection of minorities and the promotion of democratic values; and to meet the two Sakharov prize winners, Jafer Panahi and Nasrin Sotoudeh.

"This is the time of an opening, of hope", said Tarja Cronberg (Greens/EFA, FI), Chair of delegation before departure. "A first step has been taken. A preliminary agreement on Iran's nuclear programme was reached in Geneva in late November. Now is the time for a broader dialogue with the Iranian parliament, a dialogue that has been put on hold for six years, as the EP delegation visits Iran. The agenda is comprehensive, covering issues such as human rights and Iran's foreign policy. As the Middle East is reinventing itself it is also time for strategic thinking on EU Iran relations", she added.

The other participating members of the delegation are:  Cornelia Ernst (GUE/NGL, DE), Josef Weidenholzer (S&D, AT), Marietje Schaake (ALDE, NL) and Isabelle Durant (Greens/EFA, BE).  

A press conference will be organised after the delegation, on Wednesday December 18, at 11.00, in Bruxelles, room 5G-2 ASP (Altiero Spinelli building).


Source: Presse release by Tarja Cronberg's office.

Photo by  akatusca.

For additional information, see also "Senior Lawmaker: EU Parliament Seeking to Develop Ties with Iran" by FARS new agency.


PN Member Tarja Cronberg MEP is currently serving as Chairperson of the Delegation for EU relations with Iran. She is also member of the Foreign Affairs Committee and its Subcommittee on Security and Defence.

Read stories from: